Pakistani Farmers and Arranged Marriages

So I’m cutting the grass yesterday when it occurred to me that almost every kid’s song has to do with farmers.  No shit.  Farmers.

Old Macdonald had a farm, right?  And what exactly does E-I-E-I-O mean?

There was a farmer who had a dog and Bingo was his name-o.  Name-o?  Couldn’t find anything else to rhyme with Bingo, huh?  Hell.  Just use E-I-E-I-O.

Farmer In The Dell, which features the creepiest line:  “The farmer takes a wife…”  What kind of arranged marriage is going on there?  Do Pakistani people actually farm?  I thought they all just handled customer service for AT&T.

Bears going over mountains.  Telling kids to blow a man down.  Kids songs are crazy.

Leave a Reply

